Alinep Releases His Debut Album ‘Maharlika'

Alinep has released his much-awaited debut album, ‘Maharlika’. ‘Maharlika’ is a seven-track album that taps into Alinep’s evolution as an artist while keeping the album close to his Filipino roots.

Alinep is a Filipino Music Producer/DJ/label owner who is now based in the UK. He’s currently signed with Diffuse Reality, Translucent and his very own Deepsomnia Records.

The album’s name holds significant value in Filipino culture. Alinep says “Maharlika were the feudal warrior class in ancient Tagalog society in Luzo. They symbolized revolutionary change. ” A similar philosophy was used by the former president of the Philippines, Ferdinand Marcos as his vision of Filipino nationalism. The current president has also appealed to the people of the Philippines to change the country’s name to Maharlika as a way for the country to move on from its colonial past.

His seven-track debut LP was released in early February on Diffuse Reality Records, a label that has previously hosted big names such as Heidi, Marcel Dettmann and many more. Two singles from the album ‘Kumpas’ and ‘Entrada’ have already been played by Richie Hawtin on his 4-hour studio mix.

The seven tracks in the album are as follows-

  • Lipad
  • Entrada
  • Harlik
  • Maharlika
  • Tapsilog
  • Kumpas
  • Yakap

Listen to ‘Maharlika’ below-